Camp Fire Program Levels

Each program level teaches responsibility, decision-making, and other valuable skills through a variety of projects.

Click this link to register for a Club today!

Camp Fire Little Stars: Pre-Kindergarten (Ages 3-5)

More than just a play date. The Little Stars program provides the opportunity for young children to master the art of socialization, learn how to work together, and skills like taking turns and sharing. Projects are age appropriate and serve as an introduction to Camp Fire USA.

Camp Fire Starflight: Kindergarten through 2nd grade

Boys and girls learn responsibility, decision-making and other valuable skills through a variety of projects focusing on family, nature and the outdoors, safety, science, health, community service, art, music and drama. They learn while working together and having fun. All projects are designed to fit the abilities and interests of this age level. Recognition is an important component of the Starflight program, and youth receive emblems or certificates after completing a project.

Camp Fire Adventure: 3rd through 5th grade

Adventure members learn to work together and develop planning and decision-making skills, as well as skills related to their individual interests. Recognition in the form of beads, emblems and certificates is given after a project or activity is completed, which helps build self-esteem and pride. Adventure participants work on a variety of projects including outdoor action (learning safe outdoor skills, including fire building, using a compass, and following maps), community service and more.

Camp Fire Discovery: 6th through 8th grade

Camp Fire  youth explore their roles as members of families, schools, churches, neighborhoods, teams or other groups in the Discovery program. In “Discover Yourself,” youth explore who they are and who they want to be; they plan for the present and prepare for the future. In “Discover Community,” youth have opportunities to learn how communities work and how, as individuals, they can affect change in their communities. Opportunities to explore specific areas of interest, to them or their club, are available in the form of Torch Bearer projects.

Camp Fire Horizon: 9th through 12th grade

At this level the program is as varied as the individual. Teens are encouraged to participate in activities as individuals or with their Club. In the Horizon program, teens are given the opportunity to create and build their own horizons, or futures. “Highlight” activities are designed to examine ideas, values, morals and experiences. Four “Reflection” projects provide focus for teens on self, choices and decisions, future goals and planning, and self-reliance skills. Teens typically begin working toward the Wohelo Award, the highest honor that can be earned by a youth.

The Five Trails

Each program level teaches responsibility, decision-making, and other valuable skills through a variety of projects centered around five focus areas called Trails.

  • Trail to Knowing Me
  • Trail to Family and Community
  • Trail to Creativity
  • Trail to the Environment
  • Trail to the Future